Animal Services

The Bedford Animal Control Division is responsible for the care and custody of all impounded animals, responding to calls for service, quarantining of animals, investigating reports of cruelty and enforcing animal ordinance violations. This Division aggressively seeks good homes for all adoptable animals.



Where are We Located?

The Animal Shelter is located at 1809 Reliance Parkway, Bedford, Texas, 76021 and can be reached at 817.952.2191


NEW Shelter Hours

Monday - Friday
9:00a.m. - 6:00p.m.

9:00a.m. - 2:00p.m.

Sunday: Closed


Coyote & Other Wildlife Information

Coyotes live and actually adapt very well to the urban environment, and therefore coyote sightings in Bedford as well as other cities in northeast Tarrant County are not uncommon. To deter the likelihood of a coyote or other wildlife coming near your residence:

- Avoid leaving food sources outdoors
- Clean up around overflowing bird feeders
- Do not leave dog/cat food outside overnight
- Avoid leaving small pets outside unattended, especially at night
- Keep garbage containers closed and inaccessible
For more information on coyotes and other wildlife, click here to visit the DFW Wildlife Coalition.


Need to license your pet? Click here to print out an application form. Licensing is an annual process that can assist you in the return of your beloved pet in the event of separation. In addition, animal licensing is a City ordinance that can result in a citation.


  • On-line Kennel
    The Animal Control Division currently has several adoptable animals. Adoptable animals are listed through and is updated frequently.
Pet Fair

The Animal Control Division hosts two Pet Fairs each year, one in the spring and one in the fall. The date for the Fall Pet Fair is Saturday, October 4, 2014, from 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. The Fair will be located at 1809 Reliance Parkway, Bedford. This is a FREE event for the community. Come join us!